Join the adventure!

Area Team

Clwyd – pronounced “cloo-id” – is the Scout area which covers the unitary authorities of Denbighshire, Flintshire and Wrexham in north east Wales. At the last census we had 2,293 members.

Our location is shown by the purple area on the map below.

Clwyd map

The Scout Network, for members aged 18-25 years, is an area responsibilty. More information about this can be found on the Clwyd Network page.

The person who is responsible for supporting scouting in Clwyd Area is the area commissioner, Jake Myatt. The area commissioner is the ‘line manager’ of the district commissioners and reports to the chief scout.

Jake is supported by a team of people who, together with the district commissioners, make up the area team.

Who’s who?

Jake Myatt
Area Commissioner
Email Jake 





Roger Cragg
Assistant Area Commissioner (Activities)
Email Roger




David Morris (Moz)
District Commissioner , Wrexham District
Email Moz





Gerry Kellett
Assistant Area Commissioner (International)
Email Gerry







Area Training Manager
Email Training



Richard Hebden
District Commissioner, Flintshire District
Email Rich



Joanne Gregory
District Commissioner, Llangollen District
Email Jo




Simon Bannaghan

District Commissioner, Vale of Clwyd (Denbighshire) District &
Email Simon



Area Exec

Just like all groups and districts, the area has to have an executive committee. This is a business committee whose function is to support scouting in Clwyd Area.

Its meetings, held 4 times a year at Gladstone, are attended by:

  • its chairman, secretary and treasurer
  • the area commissioner and the field commissioner
  • an elected representative from each District
  • the chairman of the Gladstone Centre committee
  • the area’s representative to the committee of the Welsh Scout Council
  • an under-25 representative
  • and the area scout network commissioner
  • Other members can be nominated by the area commissioner and also can be co-opted, as the committee feels necessary.


Scout groups are organised into districts, which are led by a district commissioner who supports scouting in the district and who is the ‘line manager’ of the group scout leaders.

We have approximately sixty Scout groups in four districts.

The districts are Flintshire, Llangollen, Vale of Clwyd and Wrexham. The map below shows the districts in Clwyd.

Scouts Cymru


The 12 areas of Wales are supported by the Scouts Cymru.

Visit the ScoutsCymru website

© Copyright 2018, Clwyd Area Scouts, All Rights Reserved.